Meal Prepping and CrossFit Help This Nutrition Consultant Stay On Track

Katelan Sottosanti from Philly-based OnPoint Nutrition shares a glimpse into her week.


Katelan Sottosanti’s go-to healthy routines include CrossFit, meal prepping, and twice-daily walks with her dog, Diego. / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

Who I am: Katelan Sottosanti (@onpointkate), 29, from New Jersey

What I do: I’m a one-on-one virtual nutrition consultant for OnPoint Nutrition, with clients in the Philadelphia area and around the world.

What role health and fitness plays in my life: I follow a vegan/whole foods/plant-based diet, and nutrition and fitness are my passion. I was always on the move as a child — I played soccer, basketball, track, and softball, and I was in dance. It wasn’t until after college, though, that I fell in love with running. To date, I have completed eight half marathons (and counting), one full marathon (I’ll just stick to one), numerous 15 and 10Ks, and I try to run my beloved Broad Street Run every year.

Health memberships: I started CrossFit at CrossFit Diversion about 10 months ago and still hold a standard gym membership for my weekly spin classes and treadmill use. After having dedicated a few years to running, CrossFit has been a nice change of pace. I love the challenge!



Mung bean pasta, chickpea meatballs, and broccoli make for a satisfying lunch. / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

5:30 a.m. — After a few snoozes and puppy snuggles, I’m up and walking my fur baby, Diego.

6:40 a.m. —I’m off to catch the train to head to the office. While on the train, I catch up on client messages and emails and relax while listening to one of my favorite podcasts.

7 a.m — It’s the day after Daylight Savings Time, and Mama needs a red eye (one espresso shot with coffee and almond milk) from Starbucks. ($3.83)

7:20 a.m. — Breakfast is overnight oats — oats, peanut butter, cinnamon, and strawberries — that I prepped last night.

7:30 a.m. — I start client calls for the day. I speak to my clients for 30 minutes twice a week via video chat or phone call. My calls consist of one-on-one meetings that focus on the client’s specific goals, which range from fueling their workouts properly to disease management.

11 a.m. — Lunch is vegan chickpea meatballs, air-fried broccoli, mung bean pasta, and peanut sauce. This took me five minutes to throw together this morning as I had already cooked the meatballs and pasta over the weekend. I also have an apple on the side.

2 p.m. — Afternoon snack is two brown rice cakes with caramelized onion hummus from Wegman’s. This hummus is LIFE! I’m on my third refill of my water bottle — I leave one 24-ounce Hydroflask at work that I try to refill at least three times before I leave for the day.

3 p.m. — I’m done with my morning and afternoon client calls, so I walk to catch the train back to Jersey. Then I head to Wegman’s to grab some produce and essentials, including my favorite granola, for the week. ($62.18)

4 p.m. — I whip up a bunch of fruits and veggies, namely Brussels sprouts with apples and onions, for the rest of the week — meal prep, check! I snack on some pineapple and answer client messages while I’m cooking.

5:30 p.m. — I head to CrossFit for a super sweaty workout. This one includes a lot of biking, so I really work up an appetite. Can’t wait for dinner!

7 p.m. — I’m having one of my Well Fed Meal Prep meals: chickpea curry with green beans and cauliflower rice. I usually get two for the week to lighten my meal prep load. These come in handy on my school nights when I’m running all over the place.

8:30 p.m. — I take Diego for his nighttime walk, and we both snack on baby carrots when we get back.

9:30 p.m. — I do my nighttime routine of vitamins and face wash and snuggle up for bed.

Daily total: $66.01



Sottosanti makes a homemade smoothie for an afternoon snack. / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

5:30 a.m. — It’s two days after Daylight Savings Time, and I’m still needing the extra snoozes and puppy snuggles before we’re out for our morning walk.

6:40 a.m. — I head to catch the train to the office, coffee in tow. I check client messages and then relax and enjoy the ride.

7:30 a.m. — Breakfast is non-dairy yogurt with pineapple, peanut butter, and granola that I threw together last night before bed.

8 a.m. — Ready to start my work day. Time to jump on my client calls.

10 a.m. — My mid-morning snack is two clementines. I usually have an apple but felt like switching it up this week, plus they were on sale! I refill my water bottle, too.

12 p.m. — Lunch time. I have the same thing as yesterday — chickpea meatballs with pasta and veggies.

12:30 p.m. — I take a short walk to get some fresh air with a co-worker, and we grab coffee from Rival Bros. ($2)

2 p.m. — My afternoon snack is a handful of whole wheat pretzels I packed. I’m still feeling a little hungry, so I’ll have another snack when I get home.

3 p.m. — I walk to the train and head back to Jersey. After I take Diego out, I make a smoothie with frozen strawberries, half a banana, and unsweetened flax milk. I bought flax milk the other day on my produce run because it was on sale. Not bad!

4 p.m. — I hop back online, check client messages, and prepare for a few evening calls.

6:30 p.m. — Heading to the gym to get a run in. My gym has a cardio theater, and Creed II is on the TV. Nothing like running on the treadmill while watching those training sequences, amirite?

8:30 p.m. — Same routine as yesterday: evening walk with Diego and a baby carrot snack.

9:30 p.m. — I do my nighttime routine, adding a face mask and peppermint tea to the rotation, and then it’s lights out!

Daily total: $2



Sottosanti switches it up for lunch with a Honeygrow salad. / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

6:15 a.m. — We usually work from home on Wednesdays, so I can sleep in just a little before Diego begs for a walk.

6:45 a.m. — I head to a spin class and work up an awesome sweat and appetite; I’m craving an açai bowl.

8 a.m. — I decide I can make my own smoothie bowl instead of stopping for one. I blend a banana with frozen strawberries and flax milk and top with some chopped pineapple, peanut butter, and granola. It’s almost too pretty to eat. Almost.

8:30 a.m. — Before starting calls, I review client messages and logs while sipping coffee.

10 a.m. — My mid-morning snack is a clementine. I have a short break in between calls and decide to air fry some veggies for the week. I received an air fryer for Christmas and have been looking to experiment with all kinds of foods.

11:30 a.m. — I run a few errands before heading to the office for a meeting. Then I place a mobile order at Honeygrow for a salad to pick up on the way. I love creating my own salads there full of local and wholesome veggies. ($10.26)

3 p.m. — Snack is a handful of whole wheat pretzels that I munch on while walking to my car. Now I’m heading to grad school at Immaculata University. I’m pursuing a masters in nutrition and take class twice a week at night.

6 p.m. — I head home from school and remember I have another Well Fed meal waiting for me after my walk with Diego. He’s excited for my Well Fed dinner, too, but he gets dog food.

9 p.m. — Nighttime routine while catching up on The Bachelor. It’s so basic but so good.

10 p.m. — I pack my food for tomorrow, and it’s lights out.

Daily total: $10.26 



Sottosanti training for her first CrossFit beginner’s competition / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

5:45 a.m. — Diego beats my alarm, and we’re out the door for our walk.

6:40 a.m. — I head to the train and order Starbucks on the way. I usually designate one day each week to get a latte so 1. I don’t spend too much money on coffee, and 2. I don’t drink too much coffee. Today is that day. ($4.49)

7:30 a.m. — Breakfast is a protein muffin I made yesterday in between client calls. I have enough for the rest of the week and weekend! It goes perfectly with my latte 😊

8 a.m. — Time to start morning calls.

10 a.m. — My mid-morning snack is two clementines. I make sure to fill my water bottle for the day.

Noon — I still have those chickpea meatballs for lunch. This meal has worked out great for the week, so I think I’ll make it for next week, too. This time, I add Thai peanut sauce from Wegman’s!

1:30 p.m. — I go for a short walk to stretch my legs and refill my water bottle.

2 p.m. — I snack on a couple rice cakes with hummus before jumping back onto client calls.

3:30 p.m. — I walk to the train to head home and get ready for CrossFit. We’re participating in the CrossFit Open right now, and I’m getting ready for my first beginner’s competition in April. We do overhead sandbag tosses, handstand push-ups (I almost have them), and box jumps for as many rounds as possible in 10 minutes. I’m starving.

7:30 p.m. — Dinner is a mix of random things before I need to jump on an evening call. I throw together broccoli slaw, chickpeas, cauliflower, a veggie burger, and salsa. It’s random, but it works.

8:30 p.m. — I’m done with calls for the night, so I take Diego on a long walk.

9:30 p.m. — We snuggle in bed while Diego fetches balls around the apartment. What a creature.

10:30 p.m. — Lights out.

Daily total: $4.49



Sottosanti’s homemade muffins. / Photograph courtesy Katelan Sottosanti

4:30 a.m. — TGIF! Today we’re up early for a 5:30 spin class. We go for a quick morning walk before it’s back to bed for Diego and off to sweat for me.

5 a.m. — I grab a clementine for the road because I know I’ll end up being hungry during class.

6:40 a.m. — Quick shower and then I head to the train.

7:30 a.m. — Breakfast is two chocolate protein muffins while I answer emails and client messages.

8 a.m. — I start my morning calls.

10:30 a.m. — Lunch. Yup, I’m not ashamed to say that sometimes I eat lunch at 10:30 a.m., especially on a morning workout day. Lunch is, you guessed it, chickpea meatballs with pasta and veggies. Those little balls lasted all week!

11:30 a.m. — I head to Rival Bros. to grab a coffee. ($2) It’s a gorgeous day, so I walk around the block a few times to stretch my legs.

2 p.m. — Snack is an apple and Crazy Richards peanut butter. What would life be without peanut butter, truly?

4 p.m. — I head to happy hour at Sampan. We order Brussels sprouts (my favorite), broccoli, and veggie dumplings. I may also have a few cocktails. ($28)

7:30 p.m. — I head home to Jersey where Diego is patiently waiting for a walk. We take a long walk before going home to watch a movie.

9:30 p.m. — It’s been a long day and week, so it’s lights out early. 

Daily total: $30 

Weekly totals

Money spent: $112.76

Workouts completed: 5

Meals eaten out: 2

Chickpea meatball lunches eaten: 4

Walks taken with Diego: 10

Coffee consumed: Let’s not go there

Let’s get social! Join Be Well Philly at: