Eagles Release Murphy, Add Mays; 11 Get Tryouts

Photo by: Jeff Fusco.

Photo by: Jeff Fusco.

The Eagles have signed defensive end Frank Mays and released WR Will Murphy, the team announced today.

Mays (6-9, 291) signed with the Birds as an undrafted free agent last summer, but was released. He spent last year with the Tampa Bay Storm of the Arena Football League.

Meanwhile, the following 11 players will participate in this week’s rookie minicamp on a tryout basis:

Daniel Fitzpatrick, DB, Tennessee State
Ofa Hautau, DT, Oklahoma State
Mike Johnson, WR, Delaware
Vince Kowalski, OT, Villanova
Kevin Monangai, RB, Villanova
Pat O’Hara, LB, Monmouth
Justin Oxendine, LB, Citadel
Joe Sarnese, S, Villanova
Andy Vailas, QB, New Hampshire
Chandler Whitmer, QB, UConn
Mike Zeuli, LB, Princeton

All six draft picks and 16 undrafted free agents will participate also.

The six returning players are guard Josh Andrews, LB Brandon Hepburn, DT Wade Keliikipi, QB G.J. Kinne, WR Quron Pratt and safety Ed Reynolds.