Sweat Diaries

This Wedding Stationery Designer Gets Her Exercise From Barre and Dog Walking

Between creating wedding invitations and stationery out of her shop Paper and Posh, Lindsay Liebman fits in classes at Pure Barre, sports drop-offs for her kids, and walks with her dog, Stacks.


dog walking

Paper and Posh owner Lindsay Liebman gets her exercise through Pure Barre and walking her dog, Stacks. / Photographs courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

Welcome to Sweat Diaries, Be Well Philly’s look at the time, energy, and money people invest in pursuit of a healthy lifestyle in Philly. For each Sweat Diary, we ask one Philadelphian to spend five days tracking everything they eat, all the exercise they get, and the money they spend on both.

Who I am: Lindsay Liebman (@paperandposh), 43

Where I live: Media

What I do: I am the owner of Paper and Posh, a luxury wedding stationery design boutique located in the adorable little restaurant town of Media. I’m also an attorney, but I practice minimally — designing wedding invitations has become my full-time job. I also live in Media with my husband, Dave, my super active “Irish twins” Sarah and Ben, and our little guy, Gabe. The real baby of the family, however, is our fluffy Bernese mountain dog, Stacks.

What role healthy living plays in my life: A strong body, plenty of sleep, healthy eating, and a lot of water are the key to feeling good and sustaining the energy I need to keep the house, the kids, and my company going. Keeping my weight down is also important to my energy level. To help me along, I joined Weight Watchers online. I also have a membership at Pure Barre and Edge Fitness (both in Media), and I am currently training with my kids who are running the Media Five Miler in June.

Health memberships (and what they cost):

  • Pure Barre: $160 per month
  • Edge Fitness: $21 per month
  • Weight Watchers: $13 per month

Monday

dog walking

Liebman loves her Instant Pot. / Photograph courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

6 a.m. — Wake up! It’s Monday, which means I get up and “clean for the cleaners”: move through three loads of wash and get the kids up. I drink a cup of coffee with half and half to energize me.

7:20 a.m. — I drive Sarah and Ben to the bus stop. We usually walk, but it is POURING! I go back home, drink a second cup of coffee (this time black), finish the cleaning, and eat breakfast: two hard boiled eggs and an orange. Then it’s off to get Gabe to his bus by 8:10.

10 a.m. — Run a few errands including a trip to Wegmans for groceries. I stock up on organic boneless chicken breast, flavored seltzer water, organic popcorn, Greek yogurt, Fiber One peanut butter protein bars, tons of fruit and veggies, and, of course, a few treats for the kids ($140). It’s raining, so I don’t walk Stacks like I usually do.

12 p.m. — I eat a few handfuls of popcorn and head to Paper and Posh, where I work through a few proofs, make some phone calls, and order some gorgeous glitter and colored envelopes. I also make sure to stay hydrated with 32 ounces of lemon water.

3 p.m. — I realize I didn’t eat lunch from being caught up in work, so I grab some lunch at my studio: Trader Joe’s tortilla with black beans, cheese, and salsa, plus raspberry sparkling water (also from Trader Joe’s).

3:30 p.m. — Pick all three kids up from school/after-school activities. It’s still raining, so the run I planned with the kids is off. I think about going to Edge, but the kids can’t come. I drink some more water, set up dinner in the Instant Pot, and get ready to go back to Paper and Posh to meet a client.

5:30 p.m. — I meet a wonderful couple getting married at the Water Works and design a gorgeous invitation suite for them.

8:30 p.m. — Pick up Sarah from basketball and finally get home for the night.

9 p.m. — Because everyone else has already eaten, Sarah and I have dinner: lemon pepper chicken that I made in the Instant Pot, a salad, and rice.

9:30 p.m. — The kids are in bed, so I tidy up from the day, drink some more water, and fall into bed.

Daily total: $140

Tuesday

dog walking

Liebman is a regular at Pure Barre. / Photograph courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

6:30 a.m. — I wake up so late and quickly get the kids up. Throw in a load of laundry and drink cup of coffee number one with half and half—I need it! Breakfast is eggs and raspberries.

7 a.m. — Once I get the kids off to school, I go through some emails and plan out my day while sipping on coffee number two. I go on a 20-minute walk with Stacks. It’s a slow walk with lots of stops, but the fresh air is awesome after yesterday’s full day of rain.

9:30 a.m. — I head to Pure Barre Media. I am addicted to the classes! Pure Barre is a 50-minute total body workout consisting of tiny movements with low impact, mostly at the ballet barre, but it is HARD. The owner, BriAnne, is supportive but makes everyone push themselves. I’m floored at how much stronger and more flexible I’ve gotten. I always get in a lot of water after this class, too. Today’s consumption is 32 ounces.

10:30 a.m. — I rush home for a shower and get to work on a few proofs and designs while snacking on two rice cakes topped with some PB2.

12:30 p.m. — I meet up with one of my girlfriends, Kelly, at Chipotle. I stick with beans, chicken, lettuce and extra salsa ($12).

1:30 p.m. — A mother of the bride swings by the shop to pick up invitations for her daughter’s wedding at the Cork Factory. After, I have a design session with a bride planning her wedding at the Bellevue.

3:30 p.m. — Once I pick up Gabe from school, we head to Kung Fu Tea. I get tea and drink about half of it.

5 p.m. — The sports insanity starts! I pick up Ben from tennis and Sarah from track, then we have Gabe’s baseball drop off, Ben’s soccer drop off, Gabe’s baseball game to watch, Ben’s soccer pick up, and Sarah’s basketball drop off and pick up. Phew! Dave and I divide and conquer. I eat a Fiber One protein bar to keep myself moving.

8:30 p.m. — Dinner is pan-seared tuna and frozen asparagus. I’ll be honest — it wasn’t that great.

9 p.m. — Dave and I get the kids to bed, clean up, drink a little more water, and crash.

Daily total: $19

Wednesday

dog walking

Walks with her dog, Stacks, are part of Liebman’s daily routine. / Photograph courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

6 a.m. — Get up, clean up the house, throw in a load of laundry, grab a cup of coffee, and get to work on getting three tired and sleepy kids out of bed and off to school.

9:50 a.m. — I finally have time to eat some breakfast: zero-percent Greek yogurt with strawberries.

10 a.m. — Today in the office, I have a number of wedding invitation suites to design and send to print, boxes of product to unpack, and three clients coming in for various reasons. Busy day!

1:30 p.m. — I give myself a break to run home and get some lunch: tuna with mayo and carrots. I top it off with a few handfuls of organic olive oil and Himalayan sea salt popcorn. I’m also able to get in a good, long walk with Stacks. He deserves it!

2:30 p.m. — Time for a little bit of design work, email correspondence, and H2O.

3 p.m. — Wednesdays are tough. I’m in the car from 3 p.m. until at least 7 p.m. because the kids have tennis, track, and go to religious school. We also have lacrosse and basketball practice. I squeeze in errands like the drug store, the dry cleaner, and the bank. I usually snack in the car or hit Starbucks. Today, it’s a plain latte with almond milk.

8 p.m. — Pure Barre with BriAnne. So excited to stretch and push my muscles after all that time stuck in the car.

9 p.m. — I get home. Dave has already fed the kids (thank you, sweetie!). I grab a turkey sandwich on sprouted grain bread with green peppers, watermelon, and some water. We play a few games at the table and get ready for bed shortly after.

Daily total: $5

Thursday

dog walking

Liebman heads out for a run with daughter Sarah. / Photograph courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

6 a.m. — It’s a busy morning per usual as I get up and ready, empty the dishwasher, throw a few loads of wash in, tidy up, get the kids up and running, drink coffee number one, and eat a banana with a handful of peanuts.

9:15 a.m. — I’m volunteering at my kids’ school this morning, so I bring a giant water with me and get in all 32 ounces while I’m there.

10:05 a.m. — On my way to work, I stop at Starbucks for a coffee with half and half. I work on a few designs, order some supplies (pockets, glitter paper, and so much vellum!).

12 p.m. — I head back home for lunch: a quesadilla consisting of shredded chicken, cheese, black beans, and two tortillas.

2:30 p.m. — I take a break from work to drink some more water, which I’ve filled with lemons and oranges (because water can get boring sometimes!), and take Stacks for a walk.

3 p.m. — I’m starving, so I grab two rice cakes.

3:30 p.m. — I grab Gabe from school because Sarah and Ben are old enough to take the bus home. I tidy up book bags, break up a few Xbox arguments, and drop off Gabe at a friend’s house, saving me a drive to baseball practice.

5 p.m. — I head to work to meet a couple getting married at the Ballroom at Ellis Preserve and design some acrylic wedding invitations for them.

6:30 p.m. — Sarah and I head out for a run to train for the five miler. We get in about two miles, and Sarah is beyond humiliated that I make her take photos of me running.

8 p.m. — Dave comes home with Gabe from practice and makes us a stir fry of turkey sausage and vegetables. This is a much-needed family dinner.

9:30 p.m. — We get the kids to bed, clean up from dinner, and catch some z’s.

Daily total: $2.65

Friday

dog walking

Avocado toast from Burlap and Bean. / Photograph courtesy of Lindsay Liebman

6:45 a.m. — I’m groggy from a poor night’s sleep, so coffee number one is so necessary.

9 a.m. — On my way to work, I stop at Burlap and Bean for some avocado toast. It’s my favorite!

11 a.m. — With my jug of water close by, I meet with a client who just had the wedding of her dreams at the Bellevue Hotel. She returns some items she rented and shows me all of her amazing photos. Shortly after, I meet with a bride getting married at the Windrift Hotel (we design a gorgeous velvet and gold foil invitation), and then a bride getting married at Vie.

2 p.m. — I grab a salad from Panera ($11.49) and a water.

3:30 p.m. — I don’t need to pick anyone up from school! Gabe went home with a friend for a sleepover, and Sarah and Ben come home on the bus. While they get ready to go out with friends, I walk Stacks.

5:30 p.m. — Pure Barre with BriAnne, which is the perfect end to a busy week. I feel stronger and more flexible this week, having gone four times (I went last Sunday, too). I set my intentions to remember how good this feels and to go at least three times a week.

7 p.m. — I head to a friend’s house who just started her own coaching business. Even though I’m the guinea pig, we have a fantastic session discussing areas of stress and areas of comfort. We follow our chat with a glass of wine and a piece of pizza.

11 p.m. — Knowing I have to be at a soccer game at 7:15 tomorrow morning, I crash for the night.

Daily total: $17.49

Weekly Totals

Money spent: $184.14

Pure Barre classes taken: 4

Meetings with clients completed: 7

Cups of coffee drank: 9

Walks with Stacks done: 4

Sports drop-offs done: Way too many

Let’s get social! Join Be Well Philly at:
FACEBOOK | INSTAGRAM | NEWSLETTER | TWITTER