Equality PA Releases Endorsements 2014 Primary Election

Equality PA just released its list of endorsed candidates for the 2014 primary election, taking place on May 20th. Thirty-three lawmakers made the list, which is comprised of pro-gay candidates, many of whom identify as LGBT. Equality PA declined to endorse a gubernatorial or lieutenant governor hopeful, because “there are so many candidates in those races who support LGBT equality,” says Executive Director Ted Martin. There is, however, one clear exception. Martin writes:

“We believe that Mark Critz does not deserve the vote of any LGBT person or ally in the commonwealth. Mark Critz’s record of voting against the LGBT community and women is clear. Mark Critz voted against the repeal of Don’t Ask Don’t Tell, he voted to prohibit the use of funds to repeal the Defense of Marriage Act, and he voted against re-authorizing the Violence Against Women Act.”

So, basically, vote for any governor or lieutenant.governor candidate but him, and, in the other races, feel free to check the box next to any of the names below.

Philadelphia and Southeast Pennsylvania

  • Mark Cohen – State House, 202nd – Philadelphia County (Incumbent)
  • Whitney Hoffman – State House, 160th – Chester and Delaware Counties
  • John Kane – State Senate, 26th – Chester and Delaware Counties
  • Leanne Kruegar-Braneky – State House, 161st – Delaware County
  • Stephen McCarter – State House, 154th – Montgomery and Philadelphia Counties (Incumbent)
  • Brian Sims – State House, 182nd – Philadelphia County (Incumbent)
  • Mark Painter – State House, 146th – Montgomery County (Incumbent)
  • Vince Rongione – State House, 163rd – Delaware County

Central Pennsylvania

  • Jill Bartoli – State House, 199th – Cumberland County
  • Patty Kim – State House, 103rd – Dauphin County (Incumbent)
  • Kelly McEntee- State House, 105th – Dauphin County
  • Linda Small – State Senate, 28th – York County
  • Joshua Young – State House, 74th – Clearfield County

Lehigh Valley and Northeast Pennsylvania

  • Leslie Altieri – State House, 138th – Northampton County
  • Michael Beyer – State House, 131st – Lehigh and Northampton Counties
  • Scott Brion – US House of Representatives, (PA-10)
  • Eileen Cipriani – State House, 120th – Luzerne County
  • Matt Cartwright – US House of Representatives, (PA-17) (Incumbent)
  • Brian Kresge – State House, 37th – Lancaster County
  • Dan McNeill – State House, 133rd – Lehigh and Northampton Counties (Incumbent)
  • J. Rizzo Mertz – State House, 100th – Lancaster County
  • Mike Schlossberg – State House, 132nd – Lehigh County (Incumbent)
  • Manan Trivedi – US House of Representatives, (PA-06)

Western Pennsylvania

  • Mike Doyle – US House of Representatives, (PA-14)
  • Ed Gainey – State House, 24th – Allegheny County (Incumbent)
  • Daniel LaVallee – US House of Representatives, (PA-03)
  • Dan Miller – State House, 42nd – Allegheny County (Incumbent)
  • Erin Molchany – State House, 22nd – Allegheny County (Incumbent)
  • Michael Muha – State Senate, 50th – Butler, Crawford, Lawrence, and Mercer Counties
  • Adam Ravenstahl – State House, 20th – Allegheny County (Incumbent)
  • Jonathan Ruth – State House, 68th – Bradford and Tioga Counties
  • Frederick Sheeler – State House, 5th – Crawford and Erie Counties
  • Jesse White – State House, 46th – Allegheny, Beaver, and Washington Counties (Incumbent)