Cory Booker and Members of Congress to Introduce LGBT Non-Discrimination Bill

We have breaking news that Cory Booker, along with other members of the U.S. Congress, will introduce a historic comprehensive LGBT non-discrimination bill tomorrow in Washington.

The bill, which is called The Equality Act of 2015, “would outlaw discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation or gender identity in employment, housing, public accommodations, and other areas of law where discrimination is already prohibited for other protected classes,” according to press materials. “In most states, this discrimination is not prohibited, meaning an LGBT person can be legally fired, refused an apartment or mortgage, or be refused service at a restaurant.”

In addition to lawmakers, Chad Griffin, President of the HRC, Winnie Stachelberg, Executive Vice President of the Center for American Progress, and Mara Keisling, Executive Director of the National Center for Transgender Equality, will take part in the 12 pm press conference tomorrow in the Lyndon B. Johnson room at the U.S. Capitol Building.

The list of Congress members who will be at the conference tomorrow include:

Sen. Cory Booker

Sen. Jeff Merkley

Rep. David Cicilline

Sen. Tammy Baldwin

Rep. John Lewis

Rep. Nancy Pelosi

Sen. Chuck Schumer

Rep. Steny Hoyer

Rep. Jared Polis

Rep. Mike Honda

Rep. Kyrsten Sinema

Rep. Mark Pocan

Rep. Sean Patrick Maloney

Rep. Mark Takano

Rep. Chaka Fattah