OutBeat, the Nation’s First Queer Jazz Festival, Heads to Town This Week

By ·

Terri Lyne Carrington

Terri Lyne Carrington

Our sister blog, G Philly, has presented lots of coverage[1] on OutBeat[2], the nation’s first ever LGBTQ jazz festival, that’s playing right here in Philly this upcoming week. However, this event isn’t just for those who fall in the LGBTQ spectrum: it’s a major musical fest for jazz lovers that is bringing some of the best musicians in the genre to our city.

The festival, which runs from September 18 through the 21, has events all throughout the city. Sponsored by the William Way Community Center[3], the festival promises to create an interesting fusion between sexual orientation, identity, jazz history, and culture.

The full calendar of events is below. For more information, visit the festival’s website[4].

Thursday, September 18

Friday, September 19

Bill Stewart

Bill Stewart

Saturday, September 20

Sunday, September 21

Andrew D'Angelo

Andrew D’Angelo

Endnotes:
  1. coverage: https://www.phillymag.com/g-philly/2014/05/07/philly-host-americas-first-lgbt-jazz-festival/
  2. OutBeat: http://www.outbeatjazzfestival.com
  3. William Way Community Center: http://www.waygay.org
  4. website: http://www.outbeatjazzfestival.com
  5. Nate Chinen: https://twitter.com/natechinen
  6. Fred Hersch: http://www.fredhersch.com
  7. David Hajdu: http://www.davidhajdu.com
  8. John Szwed: http://www.johnszwed.com
  9. Orrin Evans: http://www.orrinevansmusic.com
  10. John Murph: http://www.alkem.org/murph/
  11. University of the Arts’ Arts Bank: http://www.uarts.edu/about/arts-bank
  12. Philadelphia Museum of Art: http://www.philamuseum.org
  13. Fred Hersch Trio: http://www.fredhersch.com
  14. Philadelphia Jazz Project: http://www.philajazzproject.org
  15. Suzanne Roberts Theatre: http://philadelphiatheatrecompany.org
  16. Bill Stewart: http://www.drummerworld.com/drummers/Bill_Stewart.html
  17. Patricia Barber: http://www.patriciabarber.com
  18. Chris Bartlett: https://twitter.com/harveymilk
  19. Painted Bride Art Center: https://paintedbride.org
  20. Bill Stewart Quartet: http://www.drummerworld.com/drummers/Bill_Stewart.html
  21. Terri Lyne Carrington: http://www.terrilynecarrington.com
  22. Chris’ Jazz Cafe: http://www.chrisjazzcafe.com
  23. Andy Bey: http://www.allmusic.com/artist/andy-bey-mn0000044833
  24. Patricia Barber Quartet: http://www.patriciabarber.com
  25. Andrew D’Angelo: http://www.andrewdangelo.com/#/home
  26. Jennifer Leitham Trio: http://www.jenniferleitham.com
  27. Mike McGinnis Splang-a-lang Trio: http://www.mikemcginnis.com
  28. Dena DeRose Trio,: http://www.denaderose.com
  29. David Cross Quartet: http://pitchfork.com/artists/862-david-cross/
  30. Ben Flint : https://twitter.com/bentflint
  31. Monnette Sudler: http://www.monnettesudlermusic.com
  32. Weez the Peeples: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Weez-The-Peeples/572545639469950
  33. TreZure Empire: http://trezureempire.bandcamp.com
  34. Union Transfer: http://www.utphilly.com

Source URL: https://www.phillymag.com/things-to-do/2014/09/15/outbeat-nations-first-queer-jazz-festival-heads-town-week/