Camille Cogswell Named One of Food & Wine’s Best New Chefs

The list recognizes Cogswell's work as chef and co-owner at K'Far, the modern Israeli all-day cafe from the CookNSolo team.

Photo courtesy of CookNSolo

For the first time in far too long, a Philly chef has been named to Food & Wine magazine’s list of Best New Chefs. Camille Cogswell, co-owner and chef of K’Far Cafe and executive pastry chef at Zahav, is one of ten chefs from across the country included in the magazine’s prestigious list. The last time a Philly chef was honored by the magazine, it was Fork and High Street’s Eli Kulp, in 2014.

In addition to being an honor for CookNSolo, K’Far and Cogswell, the list includes the recipe for K’Far’s kubaneh toast, which is great news for all of us.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by K’Far (@kfar_cafe) on

The magazine acknowledges the strange timing of the list, given that many of the chefs named, including Cogswell, have closed or significantly reduced the operations of their restaurants.

“This year’s class will shape the future. They are resilient and brilliant, thoughtful and caring. They are leading their teams through unprecedented circumstances, navigating choppy waters with sheer determination and optimism as their compass,” writes Khushbu Shah, Food & Wine’s Restaurant Editor and author of the list.

Cogswell was named the James Beard Foundation’s illustrious Rising Star Chef award in in 2018, and, more recently, was named to the Forbes 30 Under 30 list. The Food & Wine list, though, specifically focuses on her accomplishments as the head chef at K’Far — the list focuses specifically on chefs who have been leading kitchens for less than 4 years, which is why Cogswell’s experience at Zahav does not exclude her.

Find Cogswell’s profile here, and the full list here. K’Far is currently offering a weekly drop of pastries, which are available for preorder on Fridays.

Correction: An earlier version of this story stated that a Philly chef hadn’t been named Food & Wine’s best new chef since 1999. Eli Kulp received the accolade in 2014, as did Jim Burke in 2008. We regret the error.