Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Lattes Are Not Vegan, and Vegans Want to Change That

Starbucks - IMG_1196
Have you ever indulged in the oh-so-revered Pumpkin Spice Latte from Starbucks? I have not, simply because I’m afraid of the monster that I will surely become. (Fact: I spent an entire September weaning myself off of Caramel Macchiatos and it was rough, to put it mildly.)

But at least I could order a Pumpkin Spice Latte, if I was so inclined. Vegans, on the other hand, aren’t so lucky. Due to the condensed milk in the Pumpkin Spice sauce mix, ordering this fall-fave with soy milk does not make it vegan. And Pumpkin-Spice-deprived vegans are pissed. Okay, pissed might be an overstatement. But they definitely feel left out.

According to an article in the LA Times, a vegan named Brent Caldwell has started a petition on to make the Pumpkin Spice Latte available to everyone, regardless of their dairy or non-dairy preferences.

Caldwell explains in the petition that he and his girlfriend are regulars at their local Starbucks, and they are frustrated that so many of the drinks can be made vegan, with the exception of the Pumpkin Spice Latte.

A Starbucks representative acknowledged the issue and offered some alternatives, telling the LA Times, “We really welcome customer feedback like this … We also have our Pumpkin Spice Topping that you can finish the beverage with if a customer wanted to add that hint of fall.”

Somehow, I don’t think that Caldwell will be happy with just a “hint of fall.”  Vegan Starbucks fiends, what do you guys think? Will you be signing the petition and hoping for change?

Photo via Flickr user Nicola