General Mills Recalls 1.8 Million Boxes of Cheerios Wrongly Labeled Gluten-Free
General Mills has recalled nearly two million boxes of Cheerios labeled gluten-free after wheat flour accidentally made it into the gluten-free oat flour system at the company’s Lodi, California facility, USA Today reports.
The recall only affects original Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios labeled as gluten-free, with best by dates between July 12th, 2016 and July 25th, 2016. Yesterday, the company Tweeted out an apology to customers, along with a full rundown of the dates to look for, which you can see below.
We’re so sorry to announce we’re recalling some boxes of Cheerios/Honey Nut Cheerios. Please view image below & share pic.twitter.com/L9gxUutA3j
— Cheerios (@cheerios) October 5, 2015
In the apology, the company says gluten-free folks shouldn’t be worried about picking up a box of Cheerios in the future: “We want to reassure you that this was an isolated incident and we have implemented a solution to ensure that this will not happen again. The Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced at our other facilities are, and will continue to be, FDA compliant and gluten-free. We’ll also continue to test products and our oat flour supply extensively to ensure our products meet the gluten-free standard.”
Like what you’re reading? Stay in touch with Be Well Philly — here’s how:
- Like Be Well Philly on Facebook
- Follow Be Well Philly on Twitter
- Follow Be Well Philly on Pinterest
- Get the Be Well Philly Newsletter