12 Healthy Travel Snacks

By ·

[1]

Airport food is notoriously bad, of course, but convenience-store road-trip snacks might take the cake: chips, candy bars, Slurpees. Before you head out for the long weekend (you did remember to take Friday off, right?), spend a few minutes gathering supplies for a much healthier—and happier—on-the-road menu.

Healthy High-Protein Granola[2]
via Be Well Philly

Our very own granola recipe is a perfect take-with-you snack. There’s half a cup in a 200-calorie serving, so divide them up in separate containers for a no-brainer, perfectly proportioned snack.

Chili-Lime Popcorn[3]
via Whole Living

Give your potato-chip habit the boot for good. This popcorn is much lower in calories, with all the crunch and saltiness you crave.

Spicy Watermelon and Pistachios[4]
vía Real Simple

Have you ever had a fruit cup at the airport? This one’s so much better. (If you’re wondering, the spice comes from cayenne pepper. Interesting!)

No-Bake Energy Bites[5]
via Gimme Some Oven

Who doesn’t need an energy jolt when traveling? These little balls of energy will wake you up while filling you up. Note: must love coconut.

Three-Seed Crackers[6]
via {Never} Homemaker

Say goodbye to those sleeves of Ritz crackers you’ve been known to put away in less than 30 minutes. Here’s an easy recipe for making your own grab-and-go crackers with seeds galore.

Spicy Oven-Roasted Chickpeas[7]
via Chow.com

It is a well-documented fact that I love chickpeas[8]. Like the popcorn above, these crunchy, salty snacks will satisfy your potato-chip craving with less fat and waaaaay more protein.

Homemade Granola Bars[9]
via FitDay

All the heartiness of our granola recipe above, in an easy-to-tote bar.

Beet Chips[10]
via Martha Stewart

Oven-baked, garden-fresh goodness. You can experiment with different seasonings for chips you’ll never, ever get bored of.

Spicy Beef Jerky[11]
via Clean Eating

For the Paleo travelers amongst us.

Salad in a Jar[12]
via Simple Bites

This smart salad-layering method is genius for travelers. You get all the nutritious goodness of your favorite salads without the wilting/sliminess of made-ahead versions. Oh, and it looks pretty, too!

Oatmeal Cookie Muffins[13]
via Be Well Philly

There’s nothing easier than throwing a muffin in a baggie and heading out the door. Which is why these oatmeal muffins are also the perfect travel snack.

Bagel Thin Sandwich[14]
vía Real Mom Kitchen

For all you sandwich fiends, this one will hit the right notes without all the mayo-laden grossness of the shrink-wrapped airport and gas station versions.

Photo: Shutterstock[15]

Endnotes:
  1. [Image]: https://www.phillymag.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/strawberry1.jpg
  2. Healthy High-Protein Granola: http://blogs.phillymag.com/bewellphilly/2012/09/25/recipe-high-protein-granola/
  3. Chili-Lime Popcorn: http://www.wholeliving.com/130985/chili-lime-popcorn?czone=e&center=136761&gallery=136268&slide=130985
  4. Spicy Watermelon and Pistachios: http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/recipe-collections-favorites/quick-easy/healthy-snack-ideas-00100000085108/page4.html#19
  5. No-Bake Energy Bites: http://www.gimmesomeoven.com/no-bake-energy-bites/
  6. Three-Seed Crackers: http://www.neverhomemaker.com/2010/02/three-seed-crackers.html
  7. Spicy Oven-Roasted Chickpeas: http://www.chow.com/recipes/30368-spicy-oven-roasted-chickpeas
  8. I love chickpeas: http://blogs.phillymag.com/bewellphilly/2013/03/26/hail-chickpea/
  9. Homemade Granola Bars: http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/fitness/a-dietitians-favorite-breakfast-homemade-granola-bars.html#b
  10. Beet Chips: http://www.marthastewart.com/312807/beet-chips
  11. Spicy Beef Jerky: http://www.cleaneatingmag.com/recipes/classics-made-clean/spicy-beef-jerky/
  12. Salad in a Jar: http://www.simplebites.net/crunch-crunch-a-week-of-make-ahead-spring-salads-in-jars/
  13. Oatmeal Cookie Muffins: http://blogs.phillymag.com/bewellphilly/2012/04/09/make-oatmeal-cookie-muffins/
  14. Bagel Thin Sandwich: http://realmomkitchen.com/2079/healthy-bagel-sandwiches/
  15. Shutterstock: http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-108875339/stock-photo-strawberries-in-plastic-container-isolated-on-white.html

Source URL: https://www.phillymag.com/be-well-philly/2013/07/01/12-healthy-travel-snacks/