It’s Going to Cost More to Drive in PA

New fees start April 1, to pay for state’s new transportation bill.

WFMZ reports on a series of fee increases that will hit Pennsylvania drivers starting next week to generate funding for the state’s new transportation bill:

According to information from PennDOT, starting April 1, the fee for a duplicate driver’s license, an identification card and a duplicate ID is more than doubling, from $13.50 to $27.50.

Certificates of Title, both initial and duplicates, are jumping from $22.50 to $50. Title security interest is increasing from $5 to $23. The cost of certified records is increasing from $10 to $30. Driver information and vehicle information fees are increasing from $5 to $8 and manufacture/dealer notifications are increasing from $3 to $5.

But you’ll get your money’s worth, right? “It’s important to note that Act 89 represents an investment in Pennsylvania’s future: increasing public safety, driving commerce, creating jobs and providing reliable funding for our transportation needs without leaving the bill to our future generations,” says Jan McKnight, a PennDOT spokesperson. Somebody’s gotta pay for those roads.

Around The Web


Be respectful of our online community and contribute to an engaging conversation. We reserve the right to ban impersonators and remove comments that contain personal attacks, threats, or profanity, or are flat-out offensive. By posting here, you are permitting Philadelphia magazine and Metro Corp. to edit and republish your comment in all media.