Royal Cracovia Opens

Kielbasa hanging in the Royal Cracovia smoker.

Kielbasa hanging in the Royal Cracovia smoker.

They’re calling it a soft opening. Though I’m not sure how softly a $3.5 million, 16,000 square foot, 250-seat Eastern European restaurant can open, even if it is in Magnolia, New Jersey. But Stanislaw “Stosh” Stachowski’s mega-restaurant will finally open tomorrow, October 16th at 6 pm.

The menu ranges from everything from Polish pierogies to meats from a wood burning grill. There are also some pizzas thrown in for good measure. Lunch debuts on Friday, October 25th.


Check out the rather extensive menu.

Royal Cracovia Dinner Menu (PDF)
Royal Cracovia [Foobooz]

Be respectful of our online community and contribute to an engaging conversation. We reserve the right to ban impersonators and remove comments that contain personal attacks, threats, or profanity, or are flat-out offensive. By posting here, you are permitting Philadelphia magazine and Metro Corp. to edit and republish your comment in all media.

  • frankie fingerz

    Finally! The Polish/Italian/Russian/Greek/German restaurant that I’ve been dreaming about!!!!

  • Jake

    I am both Polish and Italian, and honestly feel slightly insulted by this menu. Sorry, doesn’t do it for me…

  • Mike_NJ

    My fiancee, her sister, and I made reservations for Wednesday 10/16 at 8pm. Since they opened at 6, we figured it’d be hopping and busy.

    The parking lot was about half empty when we parked.

    We walked in and before we could even say anything a very rude woman in a red business suit practically yelled at us in a thick Russian/Polish accent and said “Not seating for dinner!”
    We stated that we had reservations for 8pm – it was now 8:02 – and she grabbed three menus then said “Let me see if we have table clean” then stomped off and made a good show of inspecting tables that looked like they’d never been touched.

    About two minutes later another woman, in a black business suit, told us in a thick Asian accent “We sorry but due to today soft opening, kitchen not prepared for full dinner service, and we out of food.”

    They offered us reservations to return today Thursday 10/17 however two of our party wouldn’t be able to make it, so we declined. They wouldn’t even talk to us after that when we tried to find out about coupons or what-have-you, which in my experience is standard procedure when a reservation cannot be accommodated.

    Another trio of diners was entering when we were leaving; we told them they’d be turned away, as we were. The woman disbelieved us until the Asian lady started to tell them they were out of food…

    I’ve been to “soft openings” before (like the Longhorn Steakhouse in Deptford) and have NEVER been told that they’d run out of food (and even after only 2 hours!)

  • P.Dirddy

    Where is everybody going to park?

  • Scott

    Had the opportunity to experience the soft opening. If it’s any indication of what’s to come Magnolia just got a phenomenal bistro. Traveling from phila to experience it was so worth it. From pizza to chicken and pierogi to kielbasa it was all excellent. We r going back asap

  • Aly

    I was there with my parent at 8:15 on the 16, and the nice woman in black suite explains to us that the waiting time is 45 minutes, but she offer us to sit in the pizza bar and we did, guy the pizza is absolutely delicious . As they told us is soft opening so it’s understandable. We love go back there, the place is incredible and to me it’s #1 in South Jersey.

  • Jennifer

    Mike, that Asian girls you mention, she did communication to us very well and understand its soft opening. But the olds Russian, Germany or Polish look like the boss there did not even care to answer our question, chewing gum and looking at people,, what is going on with her? Anyway the Asian girls was kind of hard working to find us a table… Even a 30 minutes wait but the food finally came and we love it… I will recommend my family and friend ..

  • diner

    Enjoyed the warm and wonderful hospitality of the owner, Stas Stachowski, on Monday evening when I had dinner at his new restaurant, Royal Cracovia. Wow, what an incredible place! I want this restaurant to be a huge success so I am hoping that some minor menu disappointments are remedied. The stuffed cabbage was cooked well – the cabbage and filling were tender but it wasn’t cooked in the tomato sauce. I know that some recipes approach stuffed cabbage this way but I feel the truly authentic method is to braise the cabbage in the tomato sauce that is both sweet and sour with the addition of brown sugar, sauerkraut and kwas citronowy (citric acid). Many restaurants I have eaten at in Krakow prepare it this way and serve it with mashed potatoes. The pierogi were amazing, the sauteed onions and bacon that accompanied the pieogi were equally as delicious – the bacon was a 10 – very smoky and homemade-tasting! The kielbasa was also very good and extra smoky too. The kiszka (I know as kaszanka) or blood sausage was great. One of my dinner companions did not want to taste this but when she did she loved it! Oh my goodness – what is this – it’s so good – she said! The sauerkraut was also a 10 – really Polish-tasting – cooked a long time, tender and mild. The potato pancake was extremely weak – too much batter and not enough potato or onion. The Polish donut – paczki – was tasty but extremely chewy and not really served Polish style which is just rolled in regular sugar and filled with prune. I know the menu being offered was a limited menu but I hope that when the full menu is put into place it includes golonka – a very traditional Polish dish and very popular throughout Eastern Europe – a braised fresh ham hock that is then glazed -truly smaczny!

  • lexus

    Just want to ask…Why Magnolia? Great town; but not the area to place a restaurant with such prices. The old Country Club Diner would have been a much better location. The money is in Voorhees and E. Cherry Hill. Hope this place makes out; but very leery about the location.

    • Mark Matthews

      Finding a liquor license in Voorhees may be the problem.
      In Magnolia they were able to buy one from one of many “locals” pubs

  • basia

    are you kidding us about this being polish food we were at soft opening and it was tasteless and an hour wait for semi warm food you should work out your kinks before you open doors or file for bankruptcy. any polish housewife would put you to shame. zgubiliscie nas jako kustumera

  • muffin58

    We took my mother-in-law to this restaurant on Sat. Oct 26
    and were never more disappointed in a restaurant. The experience started when
    we arrived at 4:55 for our 5:00 reservation. We were the only ones there and
    the place was empty. After being asked 4 times by 4 different people if we had
    a reservation and being totally ignored in between, and after a 15 minute wait
    at the door, we were shown to our table. It was evident that there was much
    confusion and customer service was not their main priority. We felt like
    intruders, not guests. The attitudes were atrocious and shocking. We decided to
    give it another shot before we walked out the door. After about 10 minutes of
    watching disorganization and being told the bar did not have a blender to mix
    margaritas or daiquiris we settled for sangria with less than fresh fruit on a
    tacky dagger. No drink menus were offered so we had a very long obnoxious guessing
    game before our drink order was taken. After an additional 20 minutes of asking
    when we could expect our drinks they finally arrived. We then learned that we
    were getting a new waiter which was fine with us as the 1st one was
    very defensive when we offered constructive suggestions as was the young man
    standing around holding a water pitcher. Our second waiter was awesome and our experience got a whole lot
    better. All but our 2nd waiter (sandy haired young man with a
    pleasant smile) need much training before they are put back on the floor. They
    are not the type of employees the owner wants greeting his guests if he wishes
    his restaurant to be successful. This includes the tiny Asian woman who obviously
    does not get along with the staff. The bread was very good but the rest of the
    meal was mediocre. I regretted not cooking a nice meal for my Mother-in-law for
    her birthday, she deserved better. We did not stay for dessert and coffee. Unfortunately, I believe the owner wasted
    $3.5 million by not catering to the local demographic and by not hiring a well
    trained, seasoned wait staff. This
    restaurant will not survive in an overtaxed, mid to low income neighborhood.