Domino’s Adds Gluten-Free Pies to Its Menu

Now GF eaters can have their pizza—and eat it, too.

Takeout pizza for gluten-free eaters just got a whole lot easier: Domino’s announced the debut of a new gluten-free crust at all its U.S. stores today. The pies are made from rice starch, rice flour, potato starch, olive oil and water—seemingly safe for GF eaters. But before you start wildly ordering pies, there’s a catch: Due to worries of cross-contamination, Domino’s gluten-free pizzas are only recommended for people with mild gluten sensitivity, not celiac disease.

As a Domino’s promotional video (embedded below) explains: “We make all our pizzas in [our kitchens], so even as clean as we keep them, there are trace glutens present, which means that … it wouldn’t be entirely honest to guarantee that this pizza is absolutely gluten free. And if we weren’t honest, we wouldn’t be Domino’s.”

Domino’s worked with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness to verify the GF-friendliness of product and train its staffers on issues related to gluten and those with sensitivities. The company’s efforts earned it an NFCA Amber Kitchen Designation, a standard developed by the Ambler-based foundation to help consumers identify restaurants that have taken steps to accommodate gluten-free eaters. The rating means ingredients are verified gluten-free and restaurant staff has been trained to understand issues of gluten sensitivity. But, says the NFCA website: “Kitchen practices may vary with this designation … meaning those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity should ask questions and exercise judgment when dining at an establishment with an Amber Designation.”

Domino’s new gluten-free pizza is only available for small, 10-inch pies. Learn more about the pies in the video below.

  • H Fox

    Are they being prepared in separate pans, etc ?